P90X Shoulders & Arms + Hiking up Burnaby Mountain + Heat Wave = Done for the day…

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

I originally was going to do the Grouse Grind today at around 11am, but after looking towards the North Shore and seeing the haze and smog cooking off of the mountains, I decided to wait until later on in the day to try and workout…big mistake, cause when I started working out at 4pm, it was like 33 degrees…
– FlashAddict

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Alrighty then, I started off today’s workout by doing the P90X Shoulders and Arms routine so here is the breakdown:

Total Time:
1 Hour 11 Minutes

Total Calories Burned:
908 cal

Average Heart Rate:
136

Max Heart Rate:
167

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

The workout routine consisted of the following exercises in the following order:

alternating shoulder press – 20 lbs x 10

in and out bicep curl – 20 lbs x 16

two arm tricep kickback – 20 lbs x 10

alternating shoulder press – 20 lbs x 10

in and out bicep curl – 25 lbs x 12

two arm tricep kickback – 25 lbs x 8

ballistic stretch

deep swimmers press – 25 lbs x 8

full supination conccentration curls – 20 lbs x 12

chair dips x 25

deep swimmers press – 20 lbs x 8

full supination conccentration curls – 25 lbs x 12

chair dips x 15

ballistic stretch

upright rows – 20 lbs x 10

static arm curls – 25 lbs x 16 (too much)

flip grip twist kickbacks – 15 lbs x 6 (too much)

upright rows – 25 lbs x 12

static arm curls – 20 lbs x 12

flip grip twist kickbacks – 10 lbs x 10

ballistic stretch

seated shoulder flys – 15 lbs x 10

crouching cohen curls – 15 lbs x 14

lying down tricep extensions – 20 lbs x 14

seated shoulder flys – 10 lbs x 16

crouching cohen curls – 20 lbs x 8

lying down tricep extensions – 25 lbs x 10

ballistic stretch

straight arm shoulder flys – 15 lbs x 12

congdon curls – 15 lbs x 10

side – tri -rise – 14 each side

straight arm shoulder flys – 15 lbs x 12

congdon curls – 15 lbs x 12

side – tri -rise – 20 each side

cooldown

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

After the P90X routine, I got into my car and drove to the bottom of Burnaby Mountain and hiked up back to my condo, then jumped on my bike and went down to the base again to pickup my car – dear lord it was hot and muggy coming up the mountain, but I tried my best to come up at a good pace. I also did several 1 minute sprinting intervals at various points of the ascent to work my cardio even further.

Burnaby Mountain Trail Guide

Burnaby Mountain Trail Guide

I started off at the Pipeline Trail and then onto the Power Line Trail all the way to the Trans Canada Trail and then coming up appropriately named Cardiac Hill to finish off the hike – I then ran on the SFU perimeter road to my condo building and grabbed my bike so that I could head down and grab my car – from the base of the mountain back to base again gave me the following stats:

Total Workout Time:
1 Hour 8 Minutes

Total Calories burned
1090

Average Heart Rate:
148

Max Heart Rate:
172

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

So, by combining both workouts, I ended up working out for 2 Hours and 19 minutes and burned 1998 Calories!!!

Leave a Reply

